Slick Anthology

A video game collection in blog form… a constant work in progress

Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Battle 22

Dragon Ball Z Ultimate Battle 22 Cover

System: PS1

Genre: Fighting

Release: 3/25/03

Completed: Partially

Another case of a DBZ game getting re-released after the TV show became immensely popular, Ultimate Battle 22 stuck out to me as a kid. It was Dragon Ball Z, which was definitely eye catching, but it was stubbornly on the PS1 when the PS2 was in full bloom. So naturally I picked the game up because it was cheap, and naturally I was horrified I wasted my money on this game. It looked like an SNES game, controlled terribly, sounded atrocious, and worst of all was not fun. The only thing that made this game feel like DBZ was the cover. This is hands down the worst game I have played on the PS1. It’s also easily in my list of worst games ever made. Even with all that, I imagine the game sold well simply because it carries the Dragon Ball Z moniker. Hell, I bought it for that reason!

Buy this game from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

